Malawi is a small country in Southern Africa. Landlocked and bordered by Tanzania, Zambia and Mozambique, it is one of the poorest countries in the world.

Originally Malawi was ruled by the British and called Nyasaland.  Malawi gained independence in 1964.  Its total area of 118.4 sq km is somewhat smaller than England (130.4 sq km.)

Malawi’s population is 13.9 million.   The capital city is Lilongwe, and the second city is Blantyre (named after the Scottish home of explorer David Livingstone).

As a country it faces three major challenges, poverty, AIDS, and corruption.  Recent estimates suggest 900,000 people in Malawi are living with HIV/AIDS. 50 percent of the people live in poverty, in this mostly rural, agricultural country.  Corruption is common in every walk of life, although in recent years the Government has attempted to tackle the issue.

For more information on Malawi, visit

CIA – The World Factbook – Malawi


BBC Country profile: Malawi

Next (Projects) >

Leave a Reply